Monday, October 27, 2014

The Halloween K-Sci-Fi Update-The Underrated Edition

Hey Guys,

I’m sort of back but I’m recovering from a breakup and an emergency, don’t worry I okay  but let’s save that talk for later. I wanted to do quick list for Halloween or rather The Halloween K-Sci-Fi Update-The Underrated Edition. Last year I mostly followed the popular songs but didn't want to leave these amazing groups/artists out either that were probably very underrated in K-pop even still today. So here we go...

1.) Queen B’Z
 Genre: Horror/Thriller/ Fantasy

This is a 5-member girl group that debuted in 2013 under JS Entertainment. They originally debuted in 2012 under the name P.O.P CON. Leader MaeAhRi, main vocalists Seul Yi and Jini, rappers Aram and Rumi, have been training for the past 4 years and will finally made their most provocative but controversial debut with “Bad”.

2.) M.Pire
 Genre: Horror/Thriller/ Fantasy

A seven member South Korean idol group, signed under CMG Chorok Stars. Members are Taehee, Yooseung, Lumin, Haru, Red, T.O, and Jerry. The group officially debuted with six members on August 1, 2013 with their title track "We Can't Be Friends", a hip-hop dance song, composed by Hong Sung Min and written by Ddori Jang Gun. Their debut stage was on Mnet's "M Countdown".Member Lumin, formerly known as LeeU of F.Cuz, joined the group in October 2013. The name 'M.Pire' combines the words 'music' and 'vampire', signifying the need for the group to live off of music. M.Pire’s fandom name is Muse (뮤즈), an acronym standing for: Mind, Understand, Special and Encourage.

3.) Boy Republic
Genre: Sci-fi/ Fantasy

 A pop group consisting of five members: Onejunn, Sunwoo, Sungjun, Minsu, and Suwoong. They are Universal Music's first K-pop idol group (also managed by Happy Tribe Entertainment). On February 5th of 2014, Boys Republic announced their comeback through their official social media accounts, revealing the first teaser image for "Fantasy Trilogy" with the slogan, "making the dreams and fantasies of fans come true." The second teaser illustration further conveys the concept with each of the group member posing as their favorite superheroes: Onejunn as Spiderman, Sunwoo as Wolverine, Sungjun as Ironman, Minsu as Batman, and Suwoong as Super Mario. On February 16th, they revealed the first song of the trilogy titled "Video Game" with the caption, "Childish boys growing up to be superheroes." "Video Game" is produced by Keun Tae Park, written by Jin Choi and Danish songwriter Mage, and composes of Hybrid-Electronic Trap (H.E.T.) sounds, intense electronic bass, and gaming sound effects. It was officially released on February 20th along with the dance version of the music video with choreography from the Nana School team.

4.) Speed
Genre:  Fantasy/Sci-fi

This South Korean idol group from Core Contents Media consists of all male members of the group: Jungwoo (also known as 'Yoosung'), Taewoon (leader), Sungmin, and the addition of six new members: Jongkook in 2011, Sejoon, Yoohwan, and Taeha in 2012. Released on February 18, 'Speed Circus' has a total of five tracks and revolves around a circus theme. There are several different genres blended into the album in an attempt to show off all seven member's musical talents. Leader Taewoon also took charge in most of the writing, composing, and producing of the album, and the group gave a lot of direct input in their choreography. From re-released their mini album, comeback the digital single and music video "Zombie Party" with themes zombie concept and Shannon as guest star in the music video. On April 3, SPEED released the music video for "Look at Me Now," the title track to their repackage album, which is a trap-influenced song with a strong drum beat and synth sound.

Genre: Thriller/Fantasy/Sci-fi

Hip-hop maestros Bizzy, Tiger JK and Yoon Mirae expanded Korea's musical reach. MFBTY’s Sweet Dreams made its live premiere at the beginning of last year. The track is a combination of pop, progressive hip-hop and electronic dance music. The song rosed to No. 13 on the  K-Pop Hot 100. According to Tiger JK, "'Sweet Dreams’ is the first single off our project group. It wasn't originally supposed to the make it to the album. But, Lumpens, the director of the 'Sweet Dreams' video thought that it was suitable for the project he was working on for the theater release. It all happened like an accident.”

6.) WonderBoyz
Genre: Thriller/Fantasy/Sci-fi

The 4-member Korean pop/Hip-Hop boy group debuted in 2012 under ent102. On May 14, the awesome Wonder Boyz singleTarzan” was released. The “Tarzan” music video features Girl’s Day Hyeri. “Tarzan” was created by the producer team Ryan S. Jhun and David Doman. (Ryan S. Jhun is known as Tyga’s producer and has worked with various idol groups such as SHINee, f(x), Exo, Lee Hyori, Super Junior, and Girl’s Day.) Tarzan is a dance song that features elements of reggae.  

7.) F.CUZ
Genre: Sci-fi

A South Korean band managed by Tunes-Will Entertainment (before 2014 by CAN Entertainment).The group made their debut on January 8, 2010 with their first single, "Jiggy" on Music Bank. F.Cuz originally debuted as a four-member group (Jinon, LeeU, Kan, and Yejun), but LeeU made his departure on August 23, 2011 to pursue a solo career. On April 27, 2012, F.Cuz released their new mini album "For Century Ultimate Zest." They made their comeback with promotions for the title track "NO. 1."

8.) History
 Genre: Horror/Thriller

This five-member boy group from South Korea formed by LOEN Entertainment.They debuted on April 26, 2013 with "Dreamer", featuring the narration of their fellow labelmate. They are LOEN Entertainment's first boy group. On June 10, 2014 the tracklist for the group's upcoming album 'Desire' was released. The album contains five songs including 'I Got U', 'No Sun', 'It's Alright', 'Blue Moon', and the title track 'Psycho'. The title track 'Psycho' is composed by Lee Min Soo, East4A and lyrics written by Kim Eana. In addition to this track, the album 'Desire' includes 'I Got U & Blue Moon' which lyrics are written by member Yijeong. 

9.) Lena Park
Genre: Sci-fi

Double Kiss the upbeat title track of her two year long awaited mini album “Syncrofusion The album is produced by Team89, lead by agency Mystic89‘s head, Yoon Jong Shin. Guitarist Paul Jackson Jr. and Grammy award-winning engineer Mauricio Guerrero also participated in the album. The music video for “Double Kiss” was also released today directed Verbal Jint.

10.) KAHI
Genre: Fantasy/Thriller      

Park Ji Young is a South Korean singer and actress. She is best known for being the former leader of the girl group After School before embarking on a solo singing and acting career. The promotional campaign for Kahi's solo debut started in mid-February 2011, with the album jacket photos released on February 9 and a teaser video on February 12. The album photos were noted for highlighting the singer's "S-line",while netizens and news articles commented on the contrasting "black vs. white" images and "charisma" in the teaser. The mini-album was then released on February 14, 2011.The music video for "Come Back, You Bad Person" was released on February 14, 2011 and Kahi began promotional activities on 18th.




Alright, here is the PLAYLIST of K-Sci-fi you want so, happy listening

~Happy Halloween


Post a Comment